eBabble

Cover Story: The DC Comics Art Of Brian Bolland

Posted by in Comics

A wonderful artist who has done a ton of cover work, and not enough interior comic work, Brian Bolland gets his spotlight in Cover Story: The DC Comics Art Of Brian Bolland. Artist Brian Bolland, best known for his work as illustrator of the best-selling title BATMAN: THE KILLING JOKE, is the subject of this new hardcover collecting his covers for DC Comics. Featuring highly detailed and meticulous craftsmanship combined with dramatic takes on the world’s best-known Super Heroes, Bolland’s work has been featured on GREEN LANTERN, BATMAN, WONDER WOMAN, THE…read more

Next Men Vol 1: Scattered

Posted by in Comics

First off I dropped the “John Byrne’s” from the title so it would be somewhat shorter, and I really don’t like it when a creator’s name is inserted into the title.  I had heard Byrne was picking up with the Next Men, fifteen years since the last issue was released by Dark Horse.  Now at IDW John Byrne’s Next Men Volume 1: Scattered collects the first four issues. A new chapter begins in the lives of the survivors of Project Next Men. New friends, new foes, and a tale that…read more

Lone Wolf & Cub Retailer Incentive

Posted by in Comics

Lone Wolf and Cub is a wonderful manga series that has come to North America twice: prestige format comics from First Publishing in the 1980s and in twenty eight 4.25×6.5″ softcover volumes from Dark Horse. For anyone who hasn’t sampled this series go now and grab a paper or digital copy.  It’s an engrossing story of a ronin and his son best summed up by the tagline on the original ad poster: “he cut a bloody path of vengeance across a nation of samurai”. To celebrate the initial decent orders…read more

Like A Sniper Lining Up His Shot

Posted by in Comics

My local comic shop received this last week although everyone seems to be listing today as its release date. I’ve been waiting all year for Tardi’s Like A Sniper Lining Up His Shot.

Martin Terrier, ice-cold mercenary-turned-contract-killer, has his future all mapped out: He has just executed what he intends to be his final job and is ready to move on to the next phase of his life, which involves discreet retirement accompanied by a long-lost girlfriend. But Terrier’s employers are emphatically not pleased with his decision, old enemies begin to re-emerge, and soon Terrier is forced to once again ply his brutal trade.

Turf

Posted by in Comics

Turf from Jonathan Ross and Tommy Lee Edwards looked interesting; 1929 New York with a vampire problem and aliens. After reading it I think they should have done 1929 New York with vampires and a second book with 1929 New York and aliens, because historical horror science fiction is a genre we don’t need.

The critically acclaimed hardboiled noir crime thriller with guns, fangs and aliens is collected in its full glory! New York, 1925: the height of prohibition.

Empire

Posted by in Comics

It was October 1978 that Empire, the first graphic novel, appeared on bookstore shelves.  That’s the same month Eisner’s A Contract With God made its début, and Empire is one illustrated story while Eisner’s work is a collection of short stories.  One can argue either way but I’m going in support of Empire: it’s dust jacket states “a graphic novel” while the credits indicate “a visual novel”.  A Contract With God is black and white while Empire is fully painted in vibrant colour.    This project was put together by…read more

Screaming Planet

Posted by in Comics

A look at Alexandro Jodorowsky’s Screaming Planet. Here’s the publisher’s blurb:

All that remains of a prosperous, warm planet destroyed by the madness of its inhabitants many years ago…A living piece of metal, adrift in the cosmos, howling in its infinite sorrow…Sometimes, crossing the sky of one of the countless inhabited planets, it shares its sorrow with a conscious being…

Legend Of The Scarlet Blades

Posted by in Comics

Today we’re looking at Legend Of the Scarlet Blades by Saverio Tenuta.  Here’s the publisher’s blurb: Cartoonist Saverio Tenuta writes and paints a twisted tale of a masterless Samurai named Raido searching for clues to his bloody past in a feudal Japan ruled by spirits and beasts. Highly recommended for fans of Samura’s BLADE OF THE IMMORTAL, Koike/Kojima’s LONE WOLF & CUB, and HEAVY METAL magazine. I don’t read a lot of manga so Humanoids recommendation had little effect on me.  Tenuta has crafted a wonderful Japanese samurai myth tale…read more

Liar’s Kiss

Posted by in Comics

This book came into my hands via a recommendation from my local comic book shop.  Liar’s Kiss is a quick black and white crime drama.  Here’s the publisher’s blurb: THE WAY HE INVESTIGATES IS A CRIME IN ITSELF. Nick Archer isn’t much of a detective, but he’s managed to get himself one pretty sweet surveillance gig: once a week he sends a jealous millionaire the photos that prove his wife is faithful, leaving Nick plenty of free nights to spend making a liar of both himself and the client’s wife….read more

Pin It on Pinterest